Mario Kart 8 – All Characters


Mario Kart 8 will launch for Wii U on May 30, 2014, and it will have 30 playable characters. Which ones? In case you’ve missed our comprehensive post, here is the full list. Of the 30, only 16 characters will be available from the start of the game. The others will be unlocked after you complete certain aspects of the game.


  • Mario
  • Luigi
  • Peach
  • Daisy
  • Yoshi
  • Toad
  • Koopa Troopa
  • Shy Guy
  • Baby Mario
  • Baby Luigi
  • Baby Peach
  • Baby Daisy
  • Bowser
  • Donkey Kong
  • Wario
  • Waluigi


  • Lakitu
  • Rosalina
  • Baby Rosalina
  • Toadette
  • Metal Mario
  • Pink Gold Peach
  • Iggy Koopa
  • Larry Koopa
  • Lemmy Koopa
  • Ludwig von Koopa
  • Morton Koopa Jr.
  • Roy Koopa
  • Wendy O. Koopa
  • Mii

More on Mario Kart 8:

About the author:

Steve has been a Nintendo fan since the NES. He currently owns a NES, SNES, N64, GameCube, Wii, Wii U, GameBoy, DS, DSi, 3DS, and 3DS XL. His favorite types of games are action platformers and multiplayer “party” games. Overall, he loves a game that is pure fun and pulls him in for hours, and if that can be shared with friends, it is even better.

Steve has been blogging for NintendoFuse since April 2008. He started off as an avid reader, and eventually was asked to jump on the team. Currently, he enjoys writing game reviews and sharing breaking news with the fans and readers. You will also find him on the forums as an admin.

Steve – who has written posts on NintendoFuse.